Skip to content

Slow Cooker Kielbasa & Beer

February 5, 2011

This recipe combines two of my absolute favorite things: kielbasa and beer. I’m half Polish, so loving kielbasa is in my blood, and obviously, I love beer.

I made this for a family party, and the rest of the Polacks loved it too! As a special ingredient, I used some of my own home brewed IPA, which amazed everyone. It’s quick, easy, and delicious.

Slow cooked kielbasa

This isn't the kielbasa I made, but it looks close enough.

Ingredients

2-3lb kielbasa
12oz your beer of choice (you’ll have to add more if you use a bigger slow cooker)
onion powder
garlic powder
curry powder
1/3 cup brown sugar
1/3 cup honey mustard
dash of horseradish
slow cooker

Serves 6-10

Directions

I used a 1.5 quart slow cooker, but you could probably upgrade this to a 3 quart by using a bit more of each ingredient.

Slice the kielbasa into 1/2 inch pieces. Optionally, brown them in a saucepan. I didn’t do this, but I’ve seen it done in similar recipes.

Turn the slow cooker on low. Add the honey mustard and brown sugar and mix together. Slowly pour in the beer so it doesn’t foam up terribly. Toss in the dash (teaspoon or so, however much you like) of horseradish, add 3 – 5 shakes of garlic and onion powder, and 3 shakes of curry powder.

Add the kielbasa slices to the slow cooker, mix everything together, cover and let it sit for 5 hours. After 5 hours, set it to “keep warm” until you’re ready to eat.

You could add a can of sauerkraut to the mix if you want, to give it even more of an authentic Polish taste.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

